This morning as I got out of bed, after fighting with the alarm clock for an hour and 8 minutes, I jumped in the shower. Looking into Dad’s room he was still in bed and completely under the covers. We were to leave just 45 minutes later for the hour-and-a-half drive to Cumberland on the hunt for my new apartment. I didn’t think much of him still being in bed, he doesn’t take nearly as long to get ready as I do. Out of the shower 15 minutes later, put my eyes in (contacts), dried my hair, and started the walk back to my room to get dressed. I peeked in Dad’s room again to make sure he was awake. This time Mom was sitting on the bed next to him (still completely under the covers, the lazy bum) and on the phone. I overheard her say something about an ambulance.

Not again. He just got home on Friday!!!

Oh yes, again. Mom stopped me when I reached the door to my room. We wouldn’t be going to Cumberland today as planned. Dad had been up all night, nauseous, frequent trips to the bathroom (with blood as well), and in severe pain unlike any he’s had before. After getting Dad up and in the shower, Mom wrote a list of my duties for the next day (or two, depending):

1. Pay for Eric’s lacrosse banquet

2. Return clothing to various stores

3. Go to the grocery store and get necessities (TP, TV dinners, frozen pizza, etc)

4. Take cat to the vet (ohh yeah, Dad’s not the only one needing medical assistance. We have a new diabetic in the house, but that’s another story completely)

5. Get the boys to school no matter what.

Explaining my other duties to keep the house clean, welling up with tears, she told me she wouldn’t know when she would be home. They would make the long trip to Baltimore (because the local hospital’s a joke) to find out when they can do surgery. Hugs and kisses for them both and they were on their way.

 

Just a little while longer until I’m on my own. My independence can wait for my Dad.